Euros: List of all winners

Germany and Spain are the most dominant teams in the history of the championship.

The European Championship is a European continental competition where the best countries of the continent compete for the ultimate coveted trophy. It is the second most watched football tournament in the world, after the World Cup.

The very first edition was hosted by France in 1960, but several prominent European teams such as England, the Netherlands, Germany and Italy did not participate in the first event. Unlike the current 24-team group stage format, the first European Championship was a small competition with only four teams qualifying for the final tournament: France, the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia and Czechoslovakia. Ultimately, the Soviet Union was crowned champion after beating Yugoslavia 2-1 in the final.

In the 16 editions of the tournament, Germany and Spain are jointly the most successful countries in the tournament’s history, with each winning no fewer than 3 European titles.

Die Mannschaft’s most recent triumph at the European Championship came in 1996, when they defeated the Czech Republic (formerly Czechoslovakia) 2–1 in the final via the golden goal rule. While in the case of La Roja, their last title came at Euro 2012 after beating Italy 4–0 in the final.

Now that Spain have reached the last four of Euro 2024, they will be hoping to make history by potentially winning their fourth trophy in the tournament.

Following the leaders are Italy and France, who have won the European Championship twice in their history. Gli Azzurri are the current reigning champions of the competition after winning Euro 2020. However, they were knocked out in the round of 16 of Euro 2024 by Switzerland.

On the other hand, Le Bleus’ most recent success in the tournament came during Euro 2000, when they defeated Italy 2-1 in the final via the golden goal rule. Now that France have successfully reached the last four of Euro 2024, they will be hoping to take home their third title in the tournament.

At the other end of the spectrum are England and Belgium, who have never won the continental trophy in their history. However, having reached the semi-finals of Euro 2024, the Three Lions will be looking to end their feared trophy drought this summer.

In terms of individual achievements, Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo holds the record for most European Championship goals with 14. Ronaldo also holds the record for most European Championship appearances, with 30 matches played.

With Euro 2024 almost over, there are only four teams left in the fight for the cup. The semi-finals are about to begin: Spain vs. France and the Netherlands vs. England.

This summer’s tournament in Germany is a fascinating experience for football fans around the world with its thrilling drama, underdog stories and incredible moments.

List of all Euro winners:

  • Germany (3 titles) – 1972, 1980, 1996
  • Spain (3 titles) – 1964, 2008, 2012
  • Italy (2 titles) – 1968, 2020
  • France (2 titles) – 1984, 2000
  • Portugal (1 title) – 2016
  • Netherlands (1 title) – 1988
  • Denmark (1 title) – 1992
  • Greece (1 title) – 2004
  • Czechoslovakia (1 title) – 1976
  • Soviet Union (1 title) – 1960

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitterand Instagram; download Khel Now Android app or IOS app and join our community on Whatsapp and Telegram

Related Posts